Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Signs of fascism in the UK
Signs of fascism in the UK

I am prompted to start this thread by this article on a Farage rally in the run-up to the European Parliamentary Elections.  

The "EU Politics" heading (it should probably be called "EU27 Politics" as the UK is still a member for the moment) also contains a thread on fascism called "No pasaran" (could this also be modified, to "¡No pasarán!"?). 

This question regarding the UK has been touched on a few times in several threads. Ajda often classifies the present UK administration as "Far Right" and, I believe it is fair to say, considers the UK to be fascist in many respects.

As a long-term UK resident I have great difficulty with this view.  The UK is a multi-ethnic country and by and large inter-ethnic relations seem pretty or very good and people seem tolerant of difference.  An interesting EU survey seems to bear this out, or at least did in 2015.  A few warm words have also been exchanged on the subject of Northern Ireland, the question of the recognition of language rights there, and whether the Irish nationalist population in the Six Counties is subject to fascist treatment by the British Government.  I think the UK govt's treatment of migrants has also been instanced as an example of justification for the label, but I haven't seen any convincing evidence along these lines.

At the same time I recognise that the political landscape after the Brexit vote has been becoming increasingly fraught with signs of a society in a "pre-fascist" condition (thanks to Viridian for this term.  Viridian also gave a link to an interesting of study of the "5 stages" of fascism).  I'm still far from sure the numbers are there though.

- support for far-right, such as the EDL, the target of which is essentially the Muslim population of the UK
Not sure whether there is any evidence that this is increasing, as yet.